April 16, 2007
Rap, Club/Dance, Neo-Electro, Underground Rap, Party Rap

Album Review

"These are the songs they always play," says the uncredited voice at the beginning, and that says it pretty well. As an evocation of the three- or four-person Spank Rock's party-hard aesthetic, Fabriclive.33 can hardly be topped. But the kind of mix date that may sound incredible on the dancefloor is going to come with a few caveats when it's studded with innumerable songs that have already enjoyed a long shelf life before Spank Rock first put them on the decks, songs like Yello's "Bostich," "The Dominatrix Sleeps Tonight" by Dominatrix, Kurtis Blow's "The Breaks," Yes' "Owner of a Lonely Heart," Mylo's "Drop the Pressure," the Contours' "Do You Love Me," and the Romantics' "Talking in Your Sleep" (to name seven). The occasional raps by Amanda Blank and Naeem Juwan make things a little better than the sum of their parts, but Spank Rock sounded much more original on their debut album than they do here.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. The Breaks
  3. Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above [Spank Rock Remix]
  4. Nazis [Justice Mix]
  5. The Dominatrix Sleeps Tonight
  6. Bostich
  7. Bongo Song
  8. I'm Ready
  9. Technologic
  10. A Bit Patchy
  11. Do You Love Me
  12. Drop the Pressure
  13. Owner of a Lonely Heart
  14. Dudun Dun
  15. Myself [Xxxchange Remix]
  16. Good Man
  17. Hot Chick [Feadz Edit]
  18. Orange Alert [DFA Remix]
  19. Love on a Real Train
  20. Hustler
  21. Talking in Your Sleep
  22. Wordy Rappinghood [the Playgroup Remix]
  23. MelĂ´ Do Tabacco [Xxxchange Remix with the Ford Granada]
  24. Stock Exchange
  25. Hustlin'
  26. Over and Over [Maurice Fulton Remix]
  27. I.C. Love Affair
  28. Love to the World
  29. Outro