January 10, 2006
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Urban, Quiet Storm, Adult Contemporary R&B

Album Review

The selections on Phyllis Hyman's Love Songs span her 1977 debut through 1991's Prime of My Life, but the collection certainly favors her productive early years, with over half the content taken from Somewhere in My Lifetime, You Know How to Love Me, and Can't We Fall in Love Again. Given that nearly 20 Hyman anthologies had been released prior to this, Love Songs isn't filling a void of any sort, but the disc does hold up when compared to the many other volumes in the Love Songs series. Although "We Both Need Each Other" and "Betcha by Golly, Wow," two guest turns that bolstered Norman Connors' You Are My Starship, would've made nice additions, this covers the basics rather successfully.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
  2. Don't Tell Me, Tell Her
  3. You Know How to Love Me
  4. Some Way
  5. I Don't Want to Lose You
  6. Loving You, Losing You
  7. Can't We Fall in Love Again
  8. When I Give My Love to You (This Time)
  9. Gonna Make Changes
  10. Beautiful Man of Mine
  11. Sacred Kind of Love
  12. Let Somebody Love You
  13. Somewhere in My Lifetime
purchase full album