September 13, 2005
Traffic/Delicious Vinyl
Rap, Alternative Rap

Album Review

Instrumental mixes of rap tracks, once of interest to DJs and few others, have become increasingly popular throughout the years, indicated in part by this release. This CD combines the previously vinyl-only instrumental versions of the Pharcyde's Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde and Labcabincalifornia (though three cuts from the latter are sacrificed for the sake of space). Unsurprisingly, these productions -- J-Swift handled the bulk of the first album, while a very young Jay Dee did the honors on most of the follow-up -- have held up tremendously well and don't need any vocals to make an impact. Also of note is "Groupie Therapy," a prime Diamond D production.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Oh Shit!
  2. 4 Better or 4 Worse
  3. I'm That Type of Nigga
  4. On the D.L.
  5. Officer
  6. Ya Mama
  7. Passin' Me By
  8. Otha Fish
  9. Return of the B-Boy
  10. Bullshit
  11. Pharcyde
  12. Groupie Therapy
  13. Runnin'
  14. Somethin' That Means Somethin'
  15. Drop
  16. Devil Music
  17. The E.N.D.