May 04, 2004
MCA Nashville
Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Contemporary Country

Album Review

Released seven years and four albums after Lee Ann Womack began her career with her eponymous 1997 debut, Greatest Hits chronicles her career to date. The 14-track collection contains all of her biggest hits -- "Never Again, Again," "The Fool," "A Little Past Little Rock," "I'll Think of a Reason Later," "I Hope You Dance," "Ashes by Now" -- along with the Grammy-winning Willie Nelson duet "Mendocino County Line" from his The Great Divide album, and two solid new songs, "The Wrong Girl" and "Time for Me to Go." Although there are couple of minor singles missing -- "Buckaroo," "Why They Call It Falling," "Forever Everyday" -- Greatest Hits nevertheless offers a good summary and introduction to the first part of Womack's career, when she grew to be one of the more popular female mainstream country vocalists of the late '90s/early 2000s.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Never Again, Again
  2. You've Got to Talk to Me
  3. The Fool
  4. A Little Past Little Rock
  5. (Now You See Me) Now You Don't
  6. I'll Think of a Reason Later
  7. I Hope You Dance
  8. Ashes by Now
  9. Why They Call It Falling
  10. Something Worth Leaving Behind
  11. Mendocino County Line
  12. Does My Ring Burn Your Finger
  13. The Wrong Girl
  14. Time for Me to Go