August 06, 2002
Japanese Import
Pop/Rock, Surf, Early Pop/Rock, Hot Rod, Sunshine Pop, AM Pop

Album Review

This Japanese compilation does Beach Boys fans a service by gathering all the Brian Wilson-related material performed by surf duo Jan & Dean -- no coincidence that this virtually overlaps with their greatest hits. It begins with an album's worth of Wilson compositions: "Ride the Wild Surf," "Surf City," "The New Girl in School," "Dead Man's Curve," and even the Smile-era nugget "Vegetables." Three tracks of "Jan & Dean with the Beach Boys" features -- "Surfin' Safari," "Surfin'," "Little Deuce Coupe" -- present the duo over the original Beach Boys backing tracks, and the "Sing Brian's Favorites" section includes the one big Jan & Dean hit not related to the Beach Boys, "The Little Old Lady From Pasadena." The remaining ten tracks are split into Jan Berry-conducted versions of Brian Wilson songs (the arrangements are high-school band level) and energizing live tracks from their mid-'60s prime.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ride the Wild Surf
  2. Sidewalk Surfin'
  3. Surf City
  4. She's My Summer Girl
  5. Drag City
  6. Surf Route 101
  7. The New Girl in School
  8. Dead Man's Curve [Single Version]
  9. Surfin' Wild
  10. Move Out, Little Mustang
  11. (When Summer Comes) Gonna Hustle You
  12. When Summer Comes (Get a Chance With You)
  13. Vegetables
  14. Surfin' Safari
  15. Surfin'
  16. Little Deuce Coupe
  17. The Little Old Lady from Pasadena
  18. Barbara Ann
  19. Palisades Park
  20. Dead Man's Curve
  21. Surf City
  22. Drag City
  23. Sidewalk Surfin'
  24. The New Girl in School
  25. Surf City [Live]
  26. Little Honda
  27. Dead Man's Curve [Live]
  28. Sidewalk Surfin'
  29. I Get Around