Rap, Alternative Rap, West Coast Rap

Album Review

The cover shot of a Fat Albert-ized Pharcyde roller coasting their way into a funhouse makes perfect sense, as the L.A.-based quartet introduced listeners to an uproarious vision of earthy hip-hop informed by P-Funk silliness and an everybody-on-the-mic street-corner atmosphere that highlights the incredible rapping skills of each member. With multiple voices freestyling over hilarious story-songs like "Oh Shit," "Soul Flower," the dozens contest "Ya Mama," and even a half-serious driving-while-black critique named "Officer," Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde proved Daisy Age philosophy akin to De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest wasn't purely an East Coast phenomenon. Skits and interludes with live backing (usually just drums and piano) only enhance the freeform nature of the proceedings, and the group even succeeds when not reliant on humor, as proved by the excellent heartbreak tale "Passing Me By." The production, by J-Sw!ft and the group, is easily some of the tightest and most inventive of any hip-hop record of the era. Though Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde could have used a few more musical hooks to draw in listeners before they begin to appreciate the amazing rapping and gifted productions, the lack of compromise reveals far greater rewards down the line.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. 4 Better or 4 Worse (Interlude)
  2. Oh Shit!
  3. It's Jigaboo Time (Skit)
  4. 4 Better or 4 Worse
  5. I'm That Type of Nigga
  6. If I Were President (Skit)
  7. Soul Flower [Remix]
  8. On the D.L.
  9. Pack the Pipe (Interlude)
  10. Officer
  11. Ya Mama
  12. Passin' Me By
  13. Otha Fish
  14. Quinton's on the Way (Skit)
  15. Pack the Pipe
  16. Return of the B-Boy
purchase full album