October 17, 2000
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Early R&B, Pop-Soul

Album Review

Here I Stand: 20 Greatest Hits is a detailed double-disc set featuring the laid-back uptown soul of vocalist Wade Flemons recorded in the late '50s and early '60s. This Collectables set goes deep into his catalog, mixing the familiar oldies "Here I Stand," "Slow Motion," "Easy Lovin'," with the Percy Mayfield-penned "At the Party," and "Please Send Me Someone to Love." Several of these tracks originally were released under the moniker Wade Flemons & the Newcomers before Flemons became a solo act. As a side note: in the '70s Flemons ended up a successful songwriter and keyboard player for an early incarnation of Earth, Wind & Fire.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Here I Stand
  2. Don't Be Careless
  3. What's Happening
  4. Purposely
  5. The Angels Will Tell You
  6. My Baby Likes to Rock
  7. Woops Now
  8. Easy Lovin'
  9. Too Long Will Be Too Late
  10. It's So Much Fun
  11. Slow Motion
  12. Goodnight, It's Time to Go
  13. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
  14. At the Party
  15. Keep on Loving Me
  16. Please Send Me Someone to Love
  17. Ain't These Tears?
  18. When It Rains It Pours
  19. That Other Place
  20. I Knew You When
purchase full album