August 04, 1989
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Surf, Instrumental Rock

Album Review

King of the Surf Guitar: The Best of Dick Dale is the definitive compilation of the father of surf-rock, containing 18 of his best-known songs, including all of his biggest hits ("Miserlou," "Let's Go Trippin'"), all presented in their original versions and in excellent audio. In addition to showcasing the roots of surf, King of the Surf Guitar demonstrates what a skilled and eclectic guitarist Dale was. Dale was one of the first guitarists in rock & roll to rely on studio and guitar effects and fuse elements of world musics to his sound, and every one of his experiments is captured on this disc. It's a definitive retrospective.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Let's Go Trippin'
  2. Shake 'N' Stomp
  3. Misirlou
  4. Mr. Peppermint Man [Vocal Version]
  5. Surf Beat
  6. Take It Off
  7. King of the Surf Guitar [Vocal Version]
  8. Hava Nagila
  9. Riders in the Sky
  10. The Wedge
  11. Night Rider
  12. Mr. Eliminator
  13. The Victor
  14. Taco Wagon
  15. Tidal Wave
  16. Banzai Washout
  17. One Double One Oh! [Instrumental]
  18. Pipeline