July 27, 1999
Cash Money
Rap, Southern Rap, Dirty South, Gangsta Rap

Album Review

Guerrilla Warfare presents Cash Money Records at its finest. The Hot Boys feature Juvenile, B.G., Lil' Wayne, and Turk rhyming over phenomenal bounce beats provided by Mannie Fresh. Following the success of Juvenile's 400 Degreez and B.G.'s Chopper City in the Ghetto, Guerrilla Warfare highlighted a fully realized regional sound, indigenous to New Orleans. While Mannie Fresh effectively puts a gangsta lean on electro booty bass, the MCs sport accents dipped deep in a Cajun frying pan. As "I Need a Hot Girl" (featuring Big Tymers) and "We on Fire" made their mark on the airwaves, album tracks such as "Get Out of the Way," "Ridin," and "Clear the Set" decorated the streets. With something for everyone not dissuaded by a parental advisory, Guerrilla Warfare has rap classic written all over it.
Robert Gabriel, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Intro (Hot & Spicy)
  2. We on Fire
  3. Respect My Mind
  4. Help
  5. Ridin
  6. Off Tha Porch
  7. Get Out tha Way
  8. Clear Tha Set
  9. I Feel
  10. Boys at War
  11. You Dig
  12. I Need a Hot Girl
  13. Tuesday & Thursday
  14. Bout Whatever
  15. Sick Uncle
  16. Shoot 1st
  17. Too Hot