RELEASE
LABEL
Def Jam
GENRES
Rap, Pop-Rap, Golden Age, Hardcore Rap, East Coast Rap, Pop

Album Review

Increasingly dismissed by hip-hop fans as an old-school relic and a slick pop sellout, LL Cool J rang in the '90s with Mama Said Knock You Out, a hard-edged artistic renaissance that became his biggest-selling album ever. Part of the credit is due to producer Marley Marl, whose thumping, bass-heavy sound helps LL reclaim the aggression of his early days. Mama Said Knock You Out isn't quite as hard as Radio, instead striking a balance between attitude and accessibility. But its greater variety and more layered arrangements make it LL's most listenable album, as well as keeping it in line with more contemporary sensibilities. Marl's productions on the slower tracks are smooth and soulful, but still funky; as a result, the ladies'-man side of LL's persona is the most convincing it's ever been, and his ballads don't feel sappy for arguably the first time on record. Even apart from the sympathetic musical settings, LL is at his most lyrically acrobatic, and the testosterone-fueled anthems are delivered with a force not often heard since his debut. The album's hits are a microcosm of its range -- "The Boomin' System" is a nod to bass-loving b-boys with car stereos; "Around the Way Girl" is a lush, winning ballad; and the title cut is one of the most blistering statements of purpose in hip-hop. It leaves no doubt that Mama Said Knock You Out was intended to be a tour de force, to regain LL Cool J's credibility while proving that he was still one of rap's most singular talents. It succeeded mightily, making him an across-the-board superstar and cementing his status as a rap icon beyond any doubt.
Steve Huey, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Boomin' Systemhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-boomin-system/id6249451?i=160586093&uo=5
  2. Around the Way Girlhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/around-the-way-girl/id6249451?i=160586099&uo=5
  3. Eat Em Up L Chillhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/eat-em-up-l-chill/id6249451?i=160586117&uo=5
  4. Mr. Goodbarhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mama-said-knock-you-out/id6249451?uo=5
  5. Murdergramhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/murdergram/id6249451?i=160586125&uo=5
  6. Cheesy Rat Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cheesy-rat-blues/id6249451?i=160586130&uo=5
  7. Farmers Blvd. [Our Anthem]http://itunes.apple.com/album/farmers-blvd-our-anthem/id6249451?i=160586134&uo=5
  8. Mama Said Knock You Outhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mama-said-knock-you-out/id6249451?i=160586138&uo=5
  9. Milky Cerealhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/milky-cereal/id6249451?i=160586149&uo=5
  10. Jingling Baby [Remixed But Still Jingling]http://itunes.apple.com/album/jingling-baby-remixed-but-still/id6249451?i=160586153&uo=5
  11. To da Break of Dawnhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/to-da-break-of-dawn/id6249451?i=6249428&uo=5
  12. 6 Minutes of Pleasurehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/6-minutes-of-pleasure/id6249451?i=160586163&uo=5
  13. Illegal Searchhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/illegal-search/id6249451?i=160586167&uo=5
  14. The Power of Godhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-power-of-god/id6249451?i=160586171&uo=5
purchase full album