Vocal Music, Standards, Traditional Pop

Album Review

On her first album, Barbra Streisand established herself as a singer who discovered or created new standards instead of one who revived or re-created old ones. She wavered from this commitment on her second album, and on her third gave in to convention completely. There was nothing wrong with her interpretations of such old favorites as "My Melancholy Baby," "Taking a Chance on Love," "As Time Goes By," or "It Had to Be You," except perhaps that they seemed a little tame for a performer of such demonstrated individuality. She was assured by going back to Harold Arlen's St. Louis Woman for "I Had Myself a True Love," using its bluesy tone for some emotional fireworks. The Third Album is another demonstration of the beauty of Barbra Streisand's voice.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. My Melancholy Baby
  2. Just in Time
  3. Taking a Chance on Love
  4. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  5. Never Will I Marry
  6. As Time Goes By
  7. Draw Me a Circle
  8. It Had to Be You
  9. Make Believe
  10. I Had Myself a True Love
purchase full album