March 25, 1997
Restless Records
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Trip-Hop

Album Review

On her third solo effort, Everything I Touch Runs Wild, the underrated singer/songwriter Lori Carson offers her barest, most personal compositions yet. One reason for this direction was due in part to recording the entire album in her own apartment, as well as to Carson producing it herself. By combining her soothing, gentle vocals with an acoustic backing, the results are often both irresistibly sweet and engaging. Her voice can be compared at times to Sarah McLachlan's, especially on the album's opener, "Something's Got Me" (which is also present in an album-closing "original version"). Simplicity and economy are stressed throughout, with the instruments (piano, clean guitar, accordion, etc.) leaving plenty of room to be filled by Carson's vocals, such as on the track "Make a Little Luck." The picture of a calm winter landscape is painted convincingly on "Snow Come Down," while "Fade" creates a feeling of melancholia. Included on initial pressings of Everything I Touch Runs Wild is a bonus second disc of remixes, which contains radical electronic makeovers of "Something's Got Me" (three separate versions) and "I Saw the Light."
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Something's Got Me
  2. Make a Little Luck
  3. Black Thumb
  4. Snow Come Down
  5. Whole Heart
  6. Fade
  7. Souvenir
  8. Train
  9. Greener
  10. I Saw the Light
  11. Something's Got Me [Original Version]
  12. Something's Got Me [Curse of the Voodoo Swamp Mix, Extended Version]
  13. Something's Got Me [Think Slink Mix]
  14. I Saw the Light [Homegrown Fantasy Mix]
  15. Something's Got Me [Instant Drip Hop Mix]
purchase full album