I.R.S. Records
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

It's hard to avoid the conclusion that The Alarm's fifth new studio album, Raw, released six months after the career-summarizing hits collection Standards, was a contractual obligation record. Lacking promotion, it crept into the pop chart for a single week at number 161, while the title track earned some AOR and college radio play. Despite that title, this was another competent mainstream rock collection, its unnecessary highlight a cover of Neil Young's "Rockin' in the Free World." "Moments in Time" presented a ballad-tempo history of the band, always a sure sign of an impending breakup ("Creeque Alley," "The Ballad of Mott," etc.): "Somewhere we got lost along the way," sings Mike Peters. Sad, but true.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Road
  2. Rockin' in the Free World [#]
  3. Raw
  4. The Wind Blows Away My Words
  5. Unsafe Building (1990) [#]
  6. God Save Somebody
  7. Moments in Time
  8. Let the River Run It's Course
  9. Lead Me Through the Darkness
  10. Hell or High Water
  11. Wonderful World
  12. Save Your Crying
  13. Up for Murder (1990) [#]
  14. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
  15. Walk Forever by My Side [#]
purchase full album