JCI Associated Labels
Pop/Rock, British Invasion, Soul, Psychedelic, Southern Soul, Deep Soul, Sunshine Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

Only Rock N Roll: 1965-69 is an excellent budget-priced collection, featuring 20 tracks -- including the Kinks' "All Day and All of the Night," Steppenwolf's "Born to Be Wild," the Yardbirds' "For Your Love," the Rascals' "I've Been Lonely Too Long," the Monkees' "I'm A Believer," Wilson Pickett's "Mustang Sally" and Sonny & Cher's "The Beat Goes On" -- from the late '60s. It's not necessarily a comprehensive collection, but if you want a sampler from this era -- and if you need a good-quality version of one or more of the hits on this disc -- this is a very entertaining listen and is a terrific bargain.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Beat Goes On
  2. I've Been Lonely Too Long
  3. Time Won't Let Me
  4. You've Got Your Troubles
  5. This Diamond Ring
  6. I'm a Believer
  7. These Eyes
  8. Backfield in Motion
  9. Sweet Inspiration
  10. Bottle of Wine
  11. Do You Believe in Magic?
  12. Mustang Sally
  13. Apples, Peaches, Pumpkin Pie
  14. All Day and All of the Night
  15. Talk Talk
  16. Cherish
  17. Hanky Panky
  18. For Your Love
  19. Eve of Destruction
  20. Born to Be Wild