August 01, 1995
Country, Country-Pop, Instrumental Pop, Instrumental Country, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

Although it isn't necessarily a definitive retrospective, Essential is the best CD compilation of Floyd Cramer's solo recordings yet assembled. Containing 20 tracks, including his hits "Last Date," "San Antonio Rose" and "Stood Up," the disc captures Cramer's signature stride piano style in all of its glory on a variety of country, pop and R&B numbers. Cramer was as well-known as a sideman as he was a solo artist, and even if Essential contains none of his session work, it contains a good portion of his very best recordings, making it a fine introduction to one of the most influential pianists in country and pop history.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Last Date
  2. Fancy Pants
  3. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  4. San Antonio Rose
  5. Flip Flop and Bop
  6. Your Last Goodbye
  7. Corrine, Corrina
  8. Drown in My Own Tears
  9. I Need You Now
  10. On the Rebound
  11. Georgia on My Mind
  12. Lovesick Blues
  13. Chattanooga Choo Choo
  14. Losers Weepers
  15. Java
  16. Shaum
  17. (These Are) The Young Years
  18. All Keyed Up
  19. Stood Up
  20. What'd I Say
purchase full album