Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Jazz-Rock, Prog-Rock, Comedy Rock, Art Rock

Album Review

The third and final live album put together from recordings of Frank Zappa's 1988 concerts, the two-CD set Make a Jazz Noise Here focuses on the composer's instrumental pieces -- which are not necessarily jazzy, by the way. As for the three vocal tracks included ("Stinkfoot," "Stevie's Spanking," and "Advance Romance"), they all feature interesting solos. The set presents old favorites, like the medley "Let's Make the Water Turn Black"/"Harry, You're a Beast," "King Kong," and "The Black Page." They are well-performed, but considering the number of versions of each of them available on other recordings, they hardly constitute the main interest of this album. Zappa included more obscure tracks. Some of them had not been performed on-stage for quite a long time. Of these, "Big Swifty," "T'Mershi Duween," "Dupree's Paradise," and "Eat That Question" all turn into memorable moments. Scattered throughout the album, listeners also find a few newer compositions, some more spontaneous than others. "Fire and Chains," "When Yuppies Go to Hell," and "Star Wars Won't Work" don't represent key pieces in Zappa's works, but they add an element of surprise to the whole. Make a Jazz Noise Here contains very little stage antics and inside jokes; it concentrates on virtuoso performances of some of Zappa's best instrumental tunes.
Fran├žois Couture, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stinkfoot
  2. When Yuppies Go to Hell
  3. Fire and Chains
  4. Let's Make the Water Turn Black
  5. Harry, You're a Beast
  6. The Orange County Lumber Truck
  7. Oh No
  8. Theme from 'Lumpy Gravy'
  9. Eat That Question
  10. Black Napkins
  11. Big Swifty
  12. King Kong
  13. Star Wars Won't Work
  14. The Black Page
  15. T'Mershi Duween
  16. Dupree's Paradise
  17. City of Tiny Lites
  18. Royal March from l'Histoire du Soldat
  19. Theme from 'The Bartok Piano Concerto #3
  20. Sinister Footwear, 2nd Movement
  21. Stevie's Spanking
  22. Alien Orifice
  23. Cruisin' for Burgers
  24. Romance Advance
  25. Strictly Genteel
purchase full album