March 03, 1978
Pop/Rock, Prog-Rock, Comedy Rock, Art Rock, Jazz-Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

Zappa in New York was recorded in December 1976 at the Palladium and originally intended for release in 1977. It was held up due to arguments between Frank Zappa and his then-record label, Warner Bros. When the two-LP set finally appeared in March 1978, Warner had deleted "Punky's Whips," a song about drummer Terry Bozzio's attraction to Punky Meadows of Angel. When Zappa reacquired the album and released it as a double CD in 1991, he restored "Punky's Whips" and added four bonus tracks. The Zappa band, which includes bassist Patrick O'Hearn, percussionist Ruth Underwood, and keyboard player Eddie Jobson, along with a horn section including the two Brecker brothers, was one of the bandleader's most accomplished, which it had to be to play songs like "Black Page," even in the "easy" version presented here. Zappa also was at the height of his comic stagecraft, notably on songs like "Titties & Beer," which essentially is a comedy routine between Zappa and Bozzio, and "The Illinois Enema Bandit," which features TV announcer Don Pardo.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Titties & Beer
  2. Cruisin' for Burgers [*]
  3. I Promise Not to Come in Your Mouth
  4. Punky's Whips [*]
  5. Honey, Don't You Want a Man Like Me?
  6. The Illinois Enema Bandit
  7. I'm the Slime [*]
  8. Pound for a Brown [*]
  9. Manx Needs Women
  10. The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page, No. 1
  11. Big Leg Emma
  12. Sofa
  13. Black Page, No. 2
  14. The Torture Never Stops [*]
  15. The Purple Lagoon/Approximate
purchase full album