June 21, 2011
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Brill Building Pop, Blue-Eyed Soul, AM Pop

Album Review

Although they had a handful of solid hits in the 1960s, the Righteous Brothers will always be remembered for the masterful "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" from 1964. Written by Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, and produced by Phil Spector in his trademark Wall of Sound style, "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" sets an ominous and emotionally ravished tone from its opening line ("You never close your eyes...") and then builds even more powerfully from there. Far from being another of Spector's brilliantly crafted teen symphonies, "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" is instead a thoroughly adult one, and the desperation that builds in Bill Medley's lead vocal (and is echoed by Bobby Hatfield's impassioned call-and-response interjections) comes from a man who truly understands what has been lost and is facing the darkest night of his very soul. It is a phenomenal record, and the centerpiece of any album it is on, including this one, which collects 11 of the Righteous Brothers' essential '60s recordings. There are deeper and better compilations out there, but the bottom-line sides are here, including "Little Latin Lupe Lu," "(You're My) Soul and Inspiration," "Unchained Melody," and, of course, the classic "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'."
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Little Latin Lupe Lu
  2. Georgia on My Mind
  3. My Babe
  4. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  5. Just Once in My Life
  6. Unchained Melody
  7. Hung on You
  8. Ebb Tide
  9. (You're My) Soul and Inspiration
  10. Go Ahead and Cry
  11. On This Side of Goodbye