Rhythm & Blues, Smooth Soul, Philly Soul, Soul, Quiet Storm

Album Review

The third Blue Magic LP continues to subtly refine and expand the group's approach. While their gossamer harmonies remain squarely at the forefront, 13 Blue Magic Lane features more pronounced club grooves than on their previous records, bowing to the inexorable shift from classic Philly soul to disco. Arranged by Norman Harris and Ron Kersey, several songs feature electronic textures that add surprisingly complementary muscle to Blue Magic's delicate vocals. In fact, despite the presence of sumptuous ballads like "Chasing Rainbows" and "Loneliest House on the Block," up-tempo fare like "We're on the Right Track" is even better. The times would later pass Blue Magic by, but for this glorious album, they were not only in lockstep with the prevailing attitudes but further ahead of the curve than any of their contemporaries.
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Loneliest House on the Block
  2. Chasing Rainbows
  3. Born on Halloween
  4. Haunted (By Your Love)
  5. I Like You
  6. Magic of the Blue
  7. We're on the Right Track
  8. Stop and Get a Hold of Yourself
  9. What's Come Over Me
purchase full album