Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

California quartet Moonpools & Caterpillars teamed with producer Richard Gottehrer (the Go-Go's) for their 1995 debut. Lead singer Kim Ward Encarnacion vocally resembles the Cranberries' Dolores O'Riordan. The songs range from the sweet power pop of "Ren," which has a light, jazz-inflected bridge, to the kinetic drive and drumming of "Colossal Youth," to the tribal beat and chants that underpin the breezy "Sundays." The stand-out tracks, though, are the grinding, yearning gem "Soon," which shifts into chiming guitars and features Encarnacion's most passionate vocals, and the lovely midtempo ballad "Heaven." Moonpools & Caterpillars have offered an album full of winning melodies whose only flaw is a lack of standout hooks.
Tom Demalon, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hear
  2. Ren
  3. Soon
  4. Trampling Rose
  5. Colossal Youth
  6. Summertime
  7. Heaven
  8. Sundays
  9. Traveling Song
  10. The Buick
  11. Koo Koo Koo
  12. Jubilee
  13. Crazy Old World
purchase full album