January 04, 2011
MCA Nashville
Pop/Rock, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Adult Contemporary, Country-Pop, Contemporary Country

Album Review

The Lee Ann Womack edition of Universal Music Group's discount-priced Icon series of best-of compilations is a straight-forward 12-track hits collection, running in chronological order from 1997 to 2005, with the exception of Womack's biggest hit, "I Hope You Dance" from 2000, which is slotted up front. If the album had been expanded just a bit, it might have included "Never Again, Again" (which reached number 23 country and was Womack's first chart hit) and "He Oughta Know That by Now" (number 22, and thus a slightly bigger hit than the number 23 "Does My Ring Burn Your Finger"), but for the most part, this album covers Womack's hit-making period well, a period that included seven country Top Tens, all included here.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Hope You Dance
  2. The Fool
  3. You've Got To Talk To Me
  4. A Little Past Little Rock
  5. I'll Think of a Reason Later
  6. (Now You See Me) Now You Don't
  7. Ashes By Now
  8. Why They Call It Falling
  9. Something Worth Leaving Behind
  10. Does My Ring Burn Your Finger
  11. Mendocino County Line
  12. I May Hate Myself In the Morning