Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

It took a lot of guts and integrity for 'Til Tuesday to record Welcome Home. Hitting big with 1985's Voices Carry, Tuesday became known for a sleek, high-tech style of new wave, and it would have been easy enough for the Boston band to come out with a similar album for a follow-up. But instead of playing it safe, Tuesday gambled with inspiration and moved from new wave to a less keyboard-driven, more folk-influenced approach. Listeners who knew Tuesday for "Love in a Vacuum," "No More Crying," and Voices Carry's hit title song found things to be a lot more organic on such personal pop/rock offerings as "David Denies". Lead singer Aimee Mann sounds consistently inspired, and the writing is superb. From a commercial standpoint, the album was too radical a departure from its predecessor. But creatively, Welcome Home was quite a triumph for 'Til Tuesday.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. What About Love
  2. Coming up Close
  3. On Sunday
  4. Will She Just Fall Down
  5. David Denies
  6. Lovers' Day
  7. Have Mercy
  8. Sleeping and Waking
  9. Angels Never Call
  10. No One Is Watching You Now
purchase full album