Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, American Underground

Album Review

Produced by Hüsker Dü's Bob Mould, it's unsurprising that Soul Asylum's debut record shares the same tendencies as the Hüskers to loud, fast punk rock. Compared to the more structured songs he would go on to write, Dave Pirner was jumpy with nervous energy, and the songs reflect this frantic need to communicate and make some noise. Fans of poststardom Soul Asylum might find this a bit too much to handle, but it remains expressive speed rock that will leave you breathless.
John Dougan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Draggin Me Down [#]
  2. Long Day
  3. Money Talks
  4. Voodoo Doll
  5. Stranger
  6. Do You Know [#]
  7. Sick of That Song
  8. Religiavision
  9. Spacehead [#]
  10. Walking
  11. Broken Glass [#]
  12. Masquerade [#]
  13. Happy
  14. Black and Blue [Alternate Version]