RELEASE
LABEL
Silver Wave
GENRES
New Age, Solo Instrumental, Ethnic Fusion, Contemporary Instrumental, Meditation/Relaxation

Album Review

In 1993, the Discovery Channel aired a six-hour miniseries documenting the experience of the Native Americans during America's westward expansion. Peter Kater created a three-hour score for How the West Was Lost. He captured 65 minutes of his favorites for the CD. His friend R. Carlos Nakai co-wrote many of the pieces and is one of the featured musicians. This is deep, soulful, and mournful music. Kater and Nakai celebrate nothing. They lament the loss of culture and heritage. This is a unique perspective on a topic that is often glamorized. There have been at least two similar documentaries with equally mournful soundtracks. The West and 500 Nations are comparable CDs.
Jim Brenholts, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. How the West Was Losthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/how-the-west-was-lost-opening/id50574384?i=50573954&uo=5
  2. Dull Knife and Little Wolfhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/how-the-west-was-lost/id50574384?uo=5
  3. The Westhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-west/id50574384?i=50573975&uo=5
  4. Crazy Horse Prayerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/crazy-horse-prayer/id50574384?i=50573993&uo=5
  5. Last of the Buffalohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/last-of-the-buffalo/id50574384?i=50574009&uo=5
  6. Three Theme Medleyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/three-theme-medley/id50574384?i=50574025&uo=5
  7. Stating Intentionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stating-intention/id50574384?i=50574066&uo=5
  8. Sand Creek Memorieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sand-creek-memories/id50574384?i=50574076&uo=5
  9. Black Kettle Theme Variationshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-kettle-theme-variations/id50574384?i=50574096&uo=5
  10. Nez Perce Flight Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nez-perce-flight-song/id50574384?i=50574101&uo=5
  11. Navajo Land Blessinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/navajo-land-blessing/id50574384?i=50574114&uo=5
  12. Black Hills Warriorhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-hills-warrior/id50574384?i=50574158&uo=5
  13. Lakota Flute Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lakota-flute-song/id50574384?i=50574180&uo=5
  14. Surrenderhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/surrender/id50574384?i=50574202&uo=5
  15. Flight Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/flight-song/id50574384?i=50574255&uo=5
  16. The Death of Dull Knifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-death-of-dull-knife/id50574384?i=50574273&uo=5
  17. A Good Day to Diehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-good-day-to-die/id50574384?i=50574281&uo=5
  18. Geronimo's Surrenderhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/geronimos-surrender/id50574384?i=50574290&uo=5
  19. He Came from the Black Hillshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/he-came-from-the-black-hills/id50574384?i=50574312&uo=5
  20. South West Warriorhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/south-west-warrior/id50574384?i=50574327&uo=5
  21. Becoming Humanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/becoming-human/id50574384?i=50574337&uo=5
  22. I Will Fight No Morehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-will-fight-no-more/id50574384?i=50574347&uo=5
  23. The Westhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-west/id50574384?i=50574371&uo=5
purchase full album