May 18, 1993
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Instrumental Rock

Album Review

Finally, a multi-label Link Wray collection spanning his lengthy career is available. Starting, appropriately enough, with "Rumble," Rumble! The Best of Link Wray illustrates through its 20 tracks that Wray was indeed one of the pioneering guitarists of rock & roll, expanding the sonic possibilities of the instrument with a variety of effects. All of the tracks feature some truly warped, genius-caliber fretboard work from Wray, and a few also feature his equally demented vocals. Rumble! The Best of Link Wray is the definitive Wray collection.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Rumble
  2. The Swag
  3. Raw-Hide
  4. Dixie-Doodle
  5. Ramble
  6. Ain't That Lovin' You Babe
  7. Jack the Ripper
  8. The Black Widow
  9. Big City After Dark
  10. Run Chicken Run
  11. The Shadow Knows
  12. Deuces Wild
  13. Hang On
  14. Ace of Spades
  15. I'm Branded
  16. Batman Theme
  17. Hidden Charms
  18. Climbing a High Wall
  19. Switchblade
  20. Jack the Ripper [Live]
purchase full album