Jazz, Free Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Saxophone Jazz

Album Review

This is one of tenor-saxophonist Dewey Redman's more accessible sessions. With the assistance of pianist Fred Simmons, bassist Mark Helias and drummer Eddie Moore, Redman is heard on the lyrical ballad "Alone Again (Naturally)," a bossa nova, jamming over parade rhythms and performing originals that sometimes are advanced bop. The music is excellent although not as explorative as most of Redman's other recordings. This fine Galaxy set has been reissued on CD in the OJC series.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Need to Be
  2. The Virgin Strike March
  3. Alone Again (Naturally)
  4. Unknown Tongue
  5. One Beautiful Day
  6. Daystar Nightlight